Where Young Adult is a Point of View, not a Reading Level

Little House Meets Modern YA Horror in This ‘Town’


Contact: Megan Naidl
(651) 424-4623

ST. PAUL, MN, February 16, 2017 – Flux, an imprint of North Star Editions, Inc. (NSE) is excited to announce the September 26, 2017 release of The Town Built on Sorrow by David Oppegaard. In this thrilling young adult horror novel sixteen-year-old Harper Spurling unknowingly befriends a teenage serial killer who is terrorizing the small town of Hawthorn.

This is Oppegaard’s second novel published with Flux. He is also the author of The Firebug of Balrog County (2015) a 2016 finalist for the MN Book Awards.

More about The Town Built on Sorrow:
Welcome to the strange mountain foothills town of Hawthorn, where sixteen-year-old Harper Spurling finds herself increasingly obsessed with the diary of a local 1860s pioneer girl while a serial killer runs unchecked through the area, dumping his victims into the town’s dark river. As Harper’s curiosity leads her closer and closer to the killer, she’ll have to think fast or join the killer’s growing list of victims. Because in Hawthorn, a town built on sorrow, the barrier between life and death is as fragile as an old forgotten skull.

David Oppegaard grew up in the small town of Lake Crystal, MN, and wrote his first novel at the age of fifteen. He holds an MFA in Writing from Hamline University and a BA in English from St. Olaf College. Oppegaard is the author of the 2016 MN Book Award finalist The Firebug of Balrog County (Flux), the Bram Stoker-nominated The Suicide Collectors (St. Martin’s Press), And the Hills Opened Up (Burnt Bridge), and Wormwood, Nevada (St. Martin’s Press). He lives and writes in St. Paul.


About Flux and North Star Editions
Flux publishes diverse young adult fiction. North Star Editions, Inc. publishes fiction and nonfiction for readers of all ages that inspires, informs, and entertains. For more information, visit fluxnow.com or northstareditions.com.